Assoc Prof. Lekkas D.F.

Department of Environment, University of the Aegean

Dr Demetris F. Lekkas is Associate Professor in the Department of Environment at the (University of the Aegean, Greece. He is the Director of the Waste Management Laboratory and leader of the Analysis and Simulation of Environmental Systems research group. He holds a PhD in Hydrology from Imperial College London (UK). From 2002 to 2004, he worked as research assistant at Imperial College London on single-site continuous rainfall modelling – part of the DEFRA (UK) funded project “Improved Methods for National Spatial – Temporal Rainfall and Evaporation Modelling for BSM (Broad Scale Modelling)”. His research interests include water resources analysis and simulation, catchment hydrology, analysis and evaluation of hydrological, model identification and evaluation, development of tools for water quantity and quality management, time series analysis and extreme values estimation, droughts and climate change impacts assessment, integrated waste management, composting, circular economy and eco-effectiveness. Dr Lekkas has participated in numerous EU and Greek projects and published more than 60 scientific papers.

He is also the Scientific Coordinator and President of the International Conference on Environmental Science and Technology (CEST), a biennial conference since 1989 and the largest in the field of Environment in Greece as well as the executive director of the Global NEST Journal. Current research activity projects include the coordination of “Geo-Ergon Paideia: Start Up Farm: Skills for future eco-farmers project (funded under the Erasmus+ programme), the coordination of projects associated with Municipal Solid Waste Management in Greece (funded by Greek municipalities) and the participation in the Research Infrastructure «ENIRISST: Intelligent Research Infrastructure for Shipping, Supply chain, Transport and Logistics” (funded by Greek General Secretariat for Research and Technology). Dr Lekkas was recently appointed member of the Board of Research and Innovation of the Region of North Aegean (Greece).